A very kiwi Christmas dress

100_2261

It’s taken another holiday to get my next sewing project finished! When I saw this tui and Pohutukawa print I knew it would make a perfect Christmas dress for me.   Four years ago my husband and I spent six months in New Zealand and one vivid memory of Christmas was the beautiful red flowers of the pohutukawa tree flowering everywhere like tropical Christmas trees.

18959_235372091528_3924183_n20159_258158956528_3903902_n

 

This is my first Anna dress and the pattern is lovely.  I made the size 10 and found the fit perfect.  With no alterations it was simple to put together.  I think I’ll try the v neckline next time as I’m not sure about the look of the high neckline on me.  The bodice has a nice fit otherwise and the pleats are a nice touch compared to darts in many patterns.

100_2262  You can see the dress is nicely fitted at the waist without feeling too tight (room for Christmas lunch!).

100_2263

Photos come to an end when Eva got involved!

Hope you all had a great Christmas.  We had a lovely relaxed Christmas up in Dornoch with lots of eating, drinking and dog walking.

2 thoughts on “A very kiwi Christmas dress

  1. What a great Anna! I love the pohutakawa print – it’s always exciting finding kiwi references on the internet (being a kiwi myself!) I love your Anna – but I’m pretty sure I loved all the Anna’s I’ve seen. It’s a lovely pattern!

    • Thanks, I couldn’t resist making something in that fabric. It is a great pattern, so versatile I can’t wait to try making a maxi version later in the year.

Leave a Reply

